DangerRuss: Russell Wilson is Making his Case for his First NFL MVP

Nearly halfway through the 2020-21 NFL season, Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson has made a strong case to be the frontrunner for NFL MVP.

By Quinn Bentley

Updated: October 27, 2020 • 5:05 PM ET

Russell Wilson leads the NFL in passer rating (119.5) this season.

Russell Wilson has never received an NFL Most Valuable Player vote. That is a travesty in the sport.

Let’s rewind.

The Seahawks star quarterback entered the league as a backup to newly-signed veteran free agent Matt Flynn. Nevertheless, Wilson won the starting job in the preseason and finished his rookie season (2012) with 30 total touchdowns, while also being a finalist for the Rookie of the Year award.

In his second season, Wilson joined Tom Brady and Ben Roethlisberger as the only quarterbacks to win a Super Bowl in their second season. He then took the Seahawks to a second straight Super Bowl in his third season, despite starting the season with a 3-3 record. The Seahawks won nine of their last 10 games, and Wilson only threw five interceptions during that stretch.

The 2015 season is when Wilson started to hit his stride as a passing quarterback. The Seahawks offense lost linemen to free agency, and running back Marshawn Lynch only played seven games all season. This put the team in Wilson’s hands, and he showed his first glimpses of being an MVP-caliber quarterback, eclipsing 4,000 passing yards and throwing for 34 touchdowns. Seattle’s season, however, ended in the divisional round to the Carolina Panthers and MVP Cam Newton.

You Might Also Like

Wilson’s showed even more grit in his fourth season. He suffered a high-ankle sprain in the season opener and two weeks later, he suffered a Grade 2 MCL sprain in his knee. Wilson didn’t miss a game, but the injury woes didn’t end there, either — he also suffered a pectoral injury on his throwing side. Despite the injuries, Wilson still managed to throw for more than 4,200 yards — simply incredible.

In 2017, a healthy Wilson began a three-year run that would make him one of the top quarterbacks in the NFL and one of the most talented players in league history. The team’s leading running back had 240 rushing yards, while Wilson led the team with 586 yards on the ground. He also threw for nearly 4,000 yards and led the league with 34 touchdowns passes.

If leading the team in rushing yards, while leading the league in passing touchdowns does not earn a single MVP vote, I don’t know what will.

Over the next two seasons, Wilson posted 35 touchdowns and 31 touchdowns, respectively. He did so while working with a new offensive coordinator and losing Doug Baldwin, who was his main receiving target for years.

Wilson currently leads the NFL with 22 passing touchdowns. He’s also on pace to shatter all of his career highs in passing. The fact that Russell Wilson has never received an MVP vote is disrespectful.

This is the year he will remove all doubt. 

Quick Links

Follow The Sports Haven

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Classic
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

© 2020 The Sports Haven, LLC  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy  |  All rights reserved.